Medical Laboratory Science


Arthur Schwarz, Advisor and Chair, Department of Biological Sciences


Southwestern Adventist University offers a Bachelor of Science degree (131-138 semester hours) in Medical Laboratory Science. This degree is offered in affiliation with Tarleton State University in Fort Worth, Texas, or Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. The first three years are completed at the Southwestern Adventist University campus. The fourth-year (12-14 months) of the program consists of clinical training to be completed at one of the affiliated hospital-based programs. Tarleton State University starts classes in July and January and may require additional prerequisite classes such as physics and biochemistry. Andrews University classes start in June. The program is accredited by the Council on Allied Health Education and Accreditation in conjunction with the National Accrediting Agency for Medical Laboratory Science.

Each student must apply to the hospital training program of his/her choice, preferably early in the junior year. Acceptance into the Southwestern Adventist University program and declaration as a Medical Laboratory Science major does not imply that the student will be accepted for the senior clinical year by an affiliated hospital program. The student is encouraged to maintain a science and an overall grade point average of 3.0 (on a four-point scale) or higher. The criteria for student selection by an affiliated hospital institution include scholastic ability, completed application materials, letters of reference, and a personal interview. At least 30 of the last 36 semester hours of academic work taken prior to the senior clinical year must be taken in residence at Southwestern Adventist University. Sixteen of the 32 hours must be science courses. English as a Second Language courses are not applicable toward residency.