Southwestern Adventist University

Undergraduate Bulletin 2012-2013 PDF


Committees of the Faculty for the Academic Year 2012-2013

First name listed is chair. All University officers are ex-officio members of all committees, standing and ad hoc.

Academic Policies

  • Amy Rosenthal, Murray Cox, Renard Doneskey, Lenora Follett, Robert Gardner, Fred Harder, Steve Jones, Monica Martinez, Robert Mendenhall,  Suzanne Phillips, Jorge Rico, Marcel Sargeant,  Daryl Thomas, Cristina Thomsen,  Vesa Naukkarinen, Jonathan Wall, Andrew Woolley, Student Senate President

Academic Standards and Practices

  • Robert Gardner, Mark Aldridge, Jason Kowarsch, Suzanne Phillips, Amy Rosenthal, Marcel Sargeant, Gerald Springer, Karl Wilcox

Administrative Council

  • Eric Anderson, Enga Almeida, Tom Bunch, Robert Gardner, Larry Garrett,  Bill Kilgore, Chas Lewis, Patricia Norwood, Amy Rosenthal, James The, Gary Temple, Greg Wicklund


  • Robert Gardner, Enga Almeida, Elizabeth Bowser, Dorie Cruz, Diem Dennis, Susan Gardner, Bill Kilgore, Patricia Norwood, Amy Rosenthal, James The

Adult Degree

  • Robert Gardner, Jorge Rico, Amy Rosenthal, Marcel Sargeant


  • James The, Mark Aldridge

Athletic Council

  • Vesa Naukkarinen, Rodney Bussey, Tom Bunch, Murray Cox, Susan Gardner, Chad Hutchinson, James The


  • Judy Miles, Jean Alway, Murray Cox, Nancy Giraldo, Wil Iverson, Marcel Sargeant, James The, Janelle Williams

Distance Education

  • Robert Gardner, Michael England, Steve Jones, John Peckham, Amy Rosenthal, Larry Turner, Roberto Valencia, a University librarian

Education Admissions

  • Marcel Sargeant,  Diem Dennis, Michael England, Robert Gardner,  Amy Rosenthal, Cheryl The

Faculty/Staff Handbook

  • Amy Rosenthal, Susan Gardner, Steve Jones, Daryl Thomas

Faculty/Staff Social Activities

  • Loretta Anderson and Donna Read (co-chairs), Tom Bunch, Susan Grady,  Bill Kilgore, Bev Mendenhall, Roberto Valencia

General Education

  • Steve Jones, Murray Cox, Renard Doneskey, Robert Gardner, Amy Rosenthal, Ingo Sorke, Alfredo Vergel, student

General Studies

  • Amy Rosenthal, Robert Gardner, Judy Miles, Suzanne Phillips, Marsha Rasmussen, Cristina Thomsen, Larry Turner, Alfredo Vergel

Graduate Council

  • Amy Rosenthal, Diem Dennis, Renard Doneskey,  Robert Gardner, Jason Kowarsch, Aaron Moses, Michael England, Cristina Thomsen, graduate student


  • Andrew Woolley, Elizabeth Bowser, Art Chadwick, Rudy Dennis, Renard Doneskey, Donna Read, Amy Rosenthal, Larry Turner, Current Seminar Faculty, student

Human Subject

  • Bonnie Gnadt, Marcel Sargeant, Gerald Springer, Catherine Turner

Institutional Assessment and Effectiveness

  • Tom Bunch, Murray Cox, James The, Daryl Thomas, Cristina Thomsen

Institutional Safety and Hazardous Material

  • Greg Wicklund, Sean Amos, Dale Hainey,  Wil Iverson, Donna Morrison, Marsha Rasmussen, Gerald Springer, Greg Sullivan, James The, Janelle Williams

Marketing and Public Relations

  • Gary Temple, Robert Gardner,  Islem Mattey, one faculty, two students

Master Plan

  • Larry Garrett, Eric Anderson, Tom Bunch, Daryl Knutson, Amy Rosenthal, Gary Temple, four faculty/staff appointed by the president, student

Nursing Admissions

  • Lenora Follett,  Enga Almeida, Diem Dennis, Robert Gardner, Amy Rosenthal, all Nursing faculty


  • Amy Rosenthal, Arthur Chadwick, Suzanne Phillips, Gerald Springer, James The, Janelle Williams

President's Council

  • Eric Anderson, Enga Almeida, Larry Garrett, Amy Rosenthal, James The, Gary Temple

Quality Enhancement Plan

  • Andrew Woolley, Murray Cox, Susan Gardner, Bonnie Gnadt, Judy Miles, Amy Rosenthal, Gerald Springer, Cristina Thomsen

Rank and Continuous Appointment

  • Amy Rosenthal,  Rudy Dennis, Renard Doneskey, Bob Mendenhall, Ron Mitchell, Andrew Woolley


  • Enga Almeida, Russ Laughlin, Judy Miles, Patricia Norwood, Amy Rosenthal, Greg Sullivan, James The, Janelle Williams

Retention and First Year Experience

  • Amy Rosenthal, Enga Almeida, Tina Bottsford, Tom Bunch, Dorie Cruz, Robert Gardner, Russ Laughlin,  Judy Miles, Patricia Norwood, George Parry, Janelle Williams, James The, Daryl Thomas, Assistant Recruiters

Scholar Lecture Series

  • Judy Myers Laue, Elizabeth Bowser, Rodney Bussey, Amy Rosenthal, Karl Wilcox

Scholarship Selection

  • Gary Temple, Darcy Force, Wil Iverson, Patricia Norwood, James The, Duane Valencia, Janelle Williams

Spiritual Life

  • Russ Laughlin, Islem Mattey, James The, Janelle Williams, Student Chaplain, Student Association Religious Vice President, Student Association President, Student, Faculty, Senior Pastor and Youth Pastor of the Keene SDA Church

Strategic Planning

  • Eric Anderson, Tom Bunch, Larry Garrett, Dale Hainey, Daryl Knutson, Robert Mendenhall, Amy Rosenthal, Larry Turner, student

Student Finance

  • Patricia Norwood, Sandie Adams, Enga Almeida, Dorie Cruz,  Robert Gardner, Larry Garrett, Bonnie Gnadt, Jerry Potter, Amy Rosenthal, James The, Greg Wicklund

Student Life

  • James The, Enga Almeida, Bill Kilgore, Greg Sullivan, Janelle Williams, Lolita Valdez, three students

Student Missionary

  • Russ Laughlin, Enga Almeida, Tina Bottsford, Patricia Norwood, Ingo Sorke, James The, Lolita Valdez, Janelle Williams, Student Missionary Club President, Four returning student missionaries

Trust Acceptance

  • Eric Anderson, Larry Garrett, Amy Rosenthal, Gary Temple



Southwestern Adventist University